RackTrack - Rack Asset Tracking

Disclaimer: I’m a hardware noob.

I would like to create a cheap and truly open alternative for fully automated DataCenter/HubRoom/Rack assets tracking!

Commercial products exist already:
https://www.rittal.com/com-en/product/list.action;jsessionid=1C322FA65400037D5B8FF61454263D72?c=/IT%20Infrastructure/Monitoring/CMC%20III%20–%20Monitoring%20system/Dynamic%20Rack%20Control&categoryPath=/PG0001/PG0800ITINFRA1/PG1538ITINFRA1/PGR9560ITINFRA1/PG1574ITINFRA1

http://www.digitalor.com/assets-tracking.html

These solutions all provide good capacity planning capabilities, but unfortunately they are all very expensive and ROI is in most cases so long that companies are not willing to purchase these solutions, and therefore continue managing their assets tediously with all the obvious frustrations and errors that causes.

Key technologies: POE, DHCP, HTTP, RFID:

https://www.rittal.com/imf/y268/2_38821//
https://www.rittal.com/imf/y268/2_37144//
https://www.rittal.com/imf/y268/2_37222//
POE: simple solution to provide both connectivity and the needed power for RackTrack to operate
DHCP: provides hands-free installation (no additional interface needed to setup fixed IP configuration) and central management (IT Admins can create a secure subnet for RackTrack and setup DHCP reservations so specific RackTrack MAC-addresses always receives the same fixed IP).
HTTP: easy/lightweight RackTrack status transmission to hostname=racktrack every 5 min. (IT Admins can create DNS CNAME alias, so data flows to the intended host)
RFID: cheap, low-power, low-interfering RFID solution (MCRF?) that will quickly and precisely identify when equipment is inserted and removed and send this via HTTP to hostname=racktrack (within 1 second).